top of page

Finish feestje nov & dec 2021

Just like last year I'm joining a "party" to (hopefully) get a lot of my work in progresses finished. It's a party via social media hosted by Deveney from het Naaldbos. It works as follows: we all make a list of wip's or ufo's we want to work on, or finish during the last 2 months of the year. Everything creative is allowed, so it doesn't matter if it's quilting, embroidery, sewing, knitting or crochet. It's really fun, we all check in via Instagram using #finishfeestje2021 and there is also a Facebook group where we share our finishes and motivate each other. It's so much fun to work as a group on our goals. And of course, it is a great excuse to make a pretty list in my bullet journal.

This year my strategy is to choose projects that are pretty close to a finish, some only need half a binding sewn on, or just a few more stitches. In total I have 12 projects I want to finish, and 2 projects that I want to finish a part of. I forgot to add 2 projects to this list, the MQG swap and some secret sewing for the Dutch Modern quilt gilde. I've also decided to get all my projects together in one box and only work from this box so to not get distracted by any of my other projects.

Both my 100 hexies rainbow wall-hanging and this fall themed maxi block are quilted and only need to have the binding finished by handstitching. So both of them should be a pretty quick finish. I also have several English paper piecing projects going on at the moment. There are my Christmas sock I made from sewing together some scraps on hexagons, and the Sunshiny Day quilt blocks from Tales of Cloth. I'm planning on making a gift bag with the sock on it as decoration, so really want to finish that one. For the other project I want to make at least 3 more circles, I still need to make over 20, so there is no way I will be finishing that one before the end of the year.

Also on my list are 3 shirts I'm making for my mum, I think I only need to finish the necklines and do some stitching with a twin-needle, so they really need to be finished soon. There is a cute little fox embroidery that needs finishing so I can gift it by the end of the month. I also joined two quilt swaps, one for the Modern Quilt Gilde that's due in the beginning of 2022, but I want to get a head start on that one. For the winter swap of the Dutch MQG the deadline for sending it is by the beginning of december, so will need to get started on that one pretty soon, and of course our round robin is still going.

During our move in the middle of October I found this cute table runner, its made of 7 pentagon flowers appliqued on a crème white background. I think I want to hand quilt some big stitches to echo around the flowers and finish this table runner. I'm not sure about the binding yet, if I want to use a contrasting fabric or the same fabric as the background. Then I also kind of want to finish and advent calendar I started 2 years ago and finally I want to add 2 more rows to my flamingo EPP.

So many projects I want to finish during these 2 months, and I really want to try and not start any new projects. Let's see how this will go, I will keep you updated via the blog and of course you can follow my progress on Instagram on Sewbysanne.


Let me know what do you want to finish before the end of 2021, or are you working from a list?


Sanne

image_6487327 (1).JPG

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Welcome on my blog, my name is Sanne. I love to sew, quilt, embroider and just be creative. Thank you for reading along on my journey. 

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page